Rameshwaram Dham

October 27, 2022 by admin0

Rameshwaram Temple is one of the holy Char Dhams of India. Char Dham is a temple based on different incarnations of Lord Vishnu and everyone here has their own beliefs. Just as Pind Daan in Badrinath of Uttarakhand, Shringar in Dwarkadhish of Dwarka, and Prasad in Jagannath Dham of Puri have their own importance. Similarly, the water of this Rameshwaram Dham situated in Rameshwaram has special significance. Every devotee who comes here must take a bath once after coming here.


India has four Dhams:  Badrinath, Uttarakhand, Shri Krishna Dwarkadhish, Dwarka, Jagannath Dham, Puri, and Rameshwaram.

The names of 12 Jyotirlingas located in the holy land of India are given according to their location.


Omkareshwar (Madhya Pradesh), Vaidyanath (Jharkhand), Somnath (Gujarat), Mallikarjuna (Andhra Pradesh), Mahakaleshwar (Madhya Pradesh), Kedarnath (Uttarakhand), Bhimashankar (Maharashtra), Kashi Vishwanath (Uttar Pradesh), Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra), Nageshwar (Gujarat), Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu), Ghrishneshwar (Maharashtra)

Rameshwaram Dham


History of Rameshwaram Temple




It is said that this temple was built by the King Parakram Bahu of Sri Lanka in the 12th century. But he only built the sanctum sanctorum of this temple. It is said that this temple was constructed from time to time by many kings. Ultimately the construction of this temple was completed after about 350 years. Due to the construction of this temple in different ways for 350 years, this temple is a unique temple in India.


There are two Shivling in Rameshwaram Temple. The main Shivling was established by Shri Ram himself. It is said that to give this temple the same recognition as Kashi, the second Shivling was brought from Kashi by Lord Hanuman. You can still see these two Shivlings in this temple even today. Both these Shivlings are worshiped regularly and it is said that the Shivling located here was built by Lord Shri Ram after killing Ravana.

Rameshwaram is one of the four Dhams as well as it is also one of the 12 Jyotirlingas. Jyotirlingas have been established at 12 different places in India, which have their own different beliefs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *